Various Artists

Don't Shoot

cover of Don't Shoot

Album notes

Released as Zippo ZONG 009 (LP) (UK) in 1986
Reissued on CD as Mau Mau MAUCD 606 (Fr)

Compiled by Anna Statman & Susie Wrenn while under the influence of Bob Forrest
Cover design: Carl Ramsey
Recorded December 1983 to June 1984 by Los Angeles artists

Tracks & Personnel

Bend In The Road (Dan Stuart/Steve Wynn)
Danny & Dusty
Danny Stuart & Steve Wynn - vocals; Sid Griffin - lead guitar; Stephen McCarthy - lap steel; Tom Stevens - bass; Dennis Duck - drums
(Produced & mixed by Paul B. Cutler)

Hello Walls (Willie Nelson)
Top Jimmy & The Rhythm Pigs
Top Jimmy - vocals; Gil T. - bass; Tony Gilkyson - lead & rhythm guitar;
Julie Christensen & Kittra - background vocals; Keith Mitchell - drums
(Produced & mixed by Chris D.)

I'll Get Out Somehow (Stephen McCarthy)
Stephen McCarthy
Stephen McCarthy - vocals & acoustic guitar; Dave Pearlman - pedal steel & guitar; Rick Utter - bass; Davy Crockett - drums
(Produced by Rick Novak; mixed by Chris D.)

Wreckin' Ball (Dave Alvin/John Doe)
John Doe
John Doe - vocals & guitar; Gil T. - bass
(Produced & mixed by Chris D.)

Almost Persuaded (Sherrill/Sutton)
Julie Christensen
Julie Christensen - vocals; Pete Wasner - piano; James Cruce - drums; Bill Bryson - bass;
Bob Hawkins - acoustic guitar; Greg Leisz - pedal steel
(Produced & mixed by Chris D.)

Tears Fall Away (Chris D./Robyn Jameson/Divine Horsemen)
Divine Horsemen
Chris D. & Julie Christensen - vocals; Robyn Jameson - acoustic guitar; Matt Lee - electric & 12-string; Brantley Kearns - fiddle
(Produced & mixed by Chris D.)

Tear It Down (Tony Gilkyson)
Tony Gilkyson
Tony Gilkyson - guitar & vocals; Maria McKee - vocals; Pat Woodward - bass; Ed Bytos - piano; Jerry Angel - drums; Spyder Mittleman & Otis Hall - saxes
(Engineered by Ricky Eckstein)

Never Get Out Of This World Alive (Hank Williams)
Jack Waterson
Jack Waterson - rhythm guitar & vocals; Will Glenn - fiddle & backup vocals;
Matthew Piucci - guitar & backup vocals; Steve Roback - bass; Chris Cavacas - piano; Alex MacNichol - drums
(Produced by Dan Stewart; mixed by Paul B. Cutler)

Blind Justice (Howe Gelb)
The Band Of... Blacky Ranchette
Howe Gelb - vocals, guitar & piano; Rainer - dobro; Jacob Martinez - bass & harmony; Alex MacNichol - drums; Chris Cavacas - cow bell

Freight Train (Elizabeth Cotton)
Clay Allison
Kendra Smith - vocals; David Roback - acoustic guitar; Juan Gomez - acoustic guitar & harmonica; Keith Mitchell - rice in cain
(Produced & mixed by David Roback)

Tear It All To Pieces (Michael Uhlenkott)
The Romans
Michael Uhlenkott - lead vocals & bass; Juan Gomez - acoustic rhythm guitar & backup vocals; Keith Mitchell - drums & backup vocals; Dan Todd - lead guitar; Allison Anders & Craig Roose - backup vocals
(Produced by Chris D.; mixed by Paul B. Cutler)

Back to Discography